Ruling alliance wins 18 seats in National Assembly election


Kathmandu, January 27: Leaders of the ruling alliance won 18 out of the 19 seats in the National Assembly (NA) election held on Wednesday.

The main opposition, CPN-UML, won only one seat in Province 1 in the election after the four-year term of 19 NA members expired recently.

As many as 43 candidates contested in the NA polls.

Winners include Nepali Congress candidates Gopal Kumar Basnet, Krishna Prasad Poudel, Kamala Pant, Yuvraj Sharma, Durga Gurung and Narayan Dutta Mishra.

Likewise, Urmila Aryal, Bhuvan Sunar, Suresh Alemgar, Nar Bahadur Bista and Jagat Bahadur Parki of CPN (Maoist Center) have been elected as NA members.

Similarly, Jayanti Devi Rai, Gomadevi Timilsina, Rajendra Laxmi Gaire, Uday Bohara and Madan Kumar Shah have been elected from the CPN (Unified Socialist).

Janata (Samajwadi Party Nepal) candidate Mohammad Khalid and Rastriya Janamorcha candidate Tul Prasad Bishwakarma have been elected.

According to Election Commission spokesperson Shaligram Sharma, 2,005 votes were cast out of 2,025 voters.

The main opposition UML has 24 seats in the NA, and continues to be the largest party in the National Assembly.

The Election Commission (EC) had fixed eight voting centers and 14 polling booths for this purpose. There were 2,025 voters in seven provinces.

As many as 532 provincial lawmakers and the mayors/chairpersons and deputy mayors/ deputy chairpersons of local units cast votes to elect 19 NA lawmakers in the elections. The election for NA members took place as the tenure of eight NA members from CPN-UML, four from CPN (Unified Socialist), four from CPN (Maoist Centre) and three from Nepali Congress is expiring on coming March 4.

तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया