Newly elected NA lawmakers take oath of office and secrecy


Kathmandu, March 5: The newly elected lawmakers of the National Assembly (NA) have taken oath of office and secrecy.

NA Chairman Ganesh Prasad Timalsina administered oath of office and secrecy to them amidst a ceremony held at the federal parliament secretariat in Singha Durbar at 11 am.

Nineteen members had been elected as NA members under the National Assembly elections held on January 26.

Out of 19 NA lawmakers, NC has six members, CPN (Maoist Center) and CPN (Unified Socialist) have five each, while CPN-UML, Janata Samajwadi Party and Rastriya Janamorcha have one each. One lawmaker has been nominated on the recommendation of the President as per the provision.

National Assembly is the permanent upper House of Representatives of the federal parliament. Term of one third of the 59 lawmakers of the NA expires every two years and the same number of new lawmakers are elected to the vacant seats. At the beginning, the terms of NA lawmakers had been determined through lottery. According to the provision, the term of an NA lawmaker is of six years.



तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया