Election Commision forms bench to settle JSP's authenticity row


Kathmandu, 8 July: The Election Commission (EC) has formed a five-member bench to settle the intra-party row within the Janata Samajbadi Party(JSP).

A meeting of the EC's office-bearers held on Wednesday formed the bench under Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Thapaliya. The bench includes EC commissioners Ishwari Prasad Paudyal, Ram Prasad Bhandari, Janaki Kumari Tuladhar and Sagun SJB Rana.

The decision of the EC comes after the Upendra Yadav-led faction of the JSP filed an application with the EC to grant recognition to them as the official party as per Clause 44 of the Political Party Act 2073 BS while the Mahantha Thakur-led faction also demanded recognition as the JSP. The EC formed the bench as per Clause 45 of the Act after the two sides did not come to consensus.

The EC has decided to invite both sides of the party for a hearing on July 18. It has also asked both the factions to come along with their lawyers if they want them to plead for their case.

The dispute between the two factions of the JSP arose after the Thakur-led faction decided to support Prime Minister K P Oli, while the Yadav-led faction opposed the move. The two factions have been taking action against leaders belonging to each other's faction since the Thakur-led faction decided to join the Oli-led cabinet. 

तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया