Pro-Thakur lawmakers abstain from Province Assembly


Janakpurdham, 8 June: Twenty province lawmakers of Province 2 from the ruling Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal (JSP) Chairman Mahanta Thakur’s faction did not turn in in the Province Assembly on Monday.

According to sources, the sixth session of Province Assembly of Province 2 started from Monday, sans all lawmakers of JSP Chairman Thakur faction.

The party conflict of the ruling JSP reached at the peak after Chief Minister Lal Babu Raut sacked four ministers including Physical Infrastructure Development Minister Jitendra Sonal loyal to Chairman Thakur.

Former Rastriya Janata Party lawmakers loyal to their chairman are waiting for Thakur’s further instruction to make strategy in the assembly meeting.

Earlier, lawmakers close to Thakur had held a separate meeting which was also attended by Speaker Saroj Yadav.

Despite the meeting decision not to attend the assembly until for guidance comes from Thakur, Speaker Yadav had joined the assembly.

Then Samajwadi Party had won 30 seats whereas Rastriya Janata Party had won 25 seats in the province assembly.

Out of 25 lawmakers of Thakur faction, five lawmakers are said to have changed their camp joining another chairman Upendra Yadav’s camp.

Chief Minister Raut is working out to welcome Nepali Congress and CPN-Maoist Center in the cabinet.

तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया