Thakur and Mahato calls leaders to Kathmandu


Kathmandu, 5 May: The Thakur-Mahato faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) has called the lawmakers and the members of the central executive committee to Kathmandu as the intra-party dispute touches a new height.

The faction has called the lawmakers and the central executive committee members close to it after the Yadav-Bhattara group claimed majority on their side in a central executive meeting of the party convened on April 27.

An informal meeting held in the party office of erstwhile Rastriya Janata Party Nepal at Babarmahal decided to call the federal lawmakers and central executive members to Kathmandu.

According to a leader close to the Thakur-Mahato faction, the leaders have been called to Kathmandu to dwell on whether to give vote of confidence to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli or not aside from discussing the latest political issue of Lumbini Province and charting out the future strategy.

The Thakur-Mahato faction has intensified meetings after the Yadav-Bhattarai group decided to take action against four provincial lawmakers in Lumbini Province and form a new government against Prime Minister Oli.

The Yadav-Bhattarai faction wants to form a new government in alliance with Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center) while Thakur-Mahato is in support of the continuation of the incumbent government.

The Yadav-Bhattarai has said it has taken action against for lawmakers for crossing the floor in support of Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel of Lumbini Province.

On the other hand, the Thakur-Mahato group issued a press note stating that the party has not taken actions against anyone immediately after the province secretariat made public the decisions regarding the actions taken.

Rastriya Janata Party and Samajwadi Party unified to form Janata Samajwadi Party on April 22, 2020 after the Oli-led government issued an ordinance on the party split. The JSP has sharply been divided on whether to stand with the Oli-led government or against it.

The party has clearly been divided into two factions after Prime Minister Oli announced to take the vote of confidence on May 10. Both the factions are intensifying meetings to garner majority on their side.



तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया