Yadav faction of JSP seeks clarification from Thakur, Mahato


Kathmandu, 23 May: The meeting of the 51-member Executive Committee (EC) of Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) held Saturday has decided to take action against four leaders including, party Chairman Mahanta Thakur and Rajendra Mahato.

JSP Chairman Upendra Yadav chaired the EC meeting Saturday decided to seek clarification from Thakur, Mahato, Laxman Lal Karn, and Sarbendra Shukla. They have been asked clarification for supporting Prime Minister KP Oli by going against consensus in the party and electing parliamentary party (PP) leader, among others.

Thakur faction had picked Mahato as the PP leader recently.

A source said of the 51 members of EC, 30 were physically present in the meeting Saturday and two participated virtually. Yadav and Thakur are co-chairmen of JSP and Babu Ram Bhattarai is Federal Council Chairman of JSP.

The meeting also dismissed the task force formed to amend the constitution. The government had called for a five-member task force to study statute amendment, and accordingly, Thakur nominated Sarbendra Shukla and Laxman Lal Karna to the task force. The EC meeting concluded that the task force was a unilateral effort of Thakur. The EC meeting will continue Sunday as well. The meeting was cancelled by Thakur on Friday but Yadav and Bhattarai held the meeting today.



तपाईको प्रतिक्रिया